United Forum
Go Back   United Forum > Manchester United > Football
Closed Thread

Unread 15-10-2022, 03:00 PM
NedKelly

Default Youth football referees say "a matter of time" before someone is killed amid abuse

https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-new...say-a-28244084

Quote:
The abuse at grassroots level is unbelievable. The parents are horrendous, sometimes they want to kill you. The youngest player to shout at me was 12 years of age, calling me a ‘bag of sh**’. In my opinion, it’s a matter of time before someone is killed. I could have been killed.
I shouldn’t laugh but this article is piss funny.

Bunks, what’s your take on this? Do you worry for the safety of refs at youth games?

Unread 15-10-2022, 03:13 PM
Bunker Buster

I'm currently in my 4th year as manager / have reffed a few
U10's

It's not really that bad depending on who you play.....

Did send an opposition manager off last year as he continued to swear at me (we were smashing them 10-2)

Depends in the team but the players attitude to calls and free kicks stems from the managers and parents behaviour, we have one dirty player, he's from the care community, comes off each week saying it's not far, he quits, sick of getting kicked etc, but it's because he's very skill full and has a mouth on him....

Seen a result in the group last week 22-4 or something, team Infront of us today got beat 16 - 0 you just don't do it to lads at that age, turn it in, why you still encouraging football abuse....

I try not to lose my rag, but cup games can get a bit tasty, played a team from Salford and they were celebrating like it was the world cup....

Also had to stop our lads doing Fortnite dances after scoring

Mixed bag, can see how it could turn at 11/12 years old, suppose right now we're on the cusp....

Refs get paid at this level £20 normally a teen-ager nerd trying to find his two left feet in the game, full kit and fake ear pieces...

If the adults behave the kids will, but it's a passionate game....